Mother’s Day

Although I am not a mother, Kurt took the liberty of making me feel special on Mother’s Day. Kurt woke up at 8:00 am to start cooking a roast for dinner. After he did that, we went to church together, where I felt even more special when I got handed a delicious See’s candy bar from the ward to show appreciation to all the women in the ward. Although I am not a mother, at least I got a candy bar out of today πŸ™‚ No girl would complain about that.
Dinner was so good! He even did ALL the dishes! I felt so blessed for having such a wonderful husband who constantly strives to make me feel special. He always makes me feel loved and appreciated, but for some reason, Mother’s Day was extra special. I didn’t have to do anything. Β It was very relaxing and much less stressful than most days. I look forward to Mother’s Day every year if it means I don’t have to cook dinner, do the dishes, and I get a candy bar out of it.
During these past couple of weeks, my love for my own mother has grown. Even though I have only been married for a couple of weeks, I have really begun to realize how much work my mother put into making our home a safe and wonderful place to be. My mother is an amazing woman. From November to April, she was working, magnifying her calling at church as a member of the Relief Society Presidency, and then she pretty much planned my entire wedding on top of that. Β My mom is a super star. Β She is the best cook and baker on the planet by far, and believe it or not, but my mom is reallyΒ funny. Β I’m telling you, I’ve never laughed harder than when I’m with my mother. Β I know everyone says that there mom is the best, but my mom gets bonus points because everyone else says my mom is the best, not just us kids. Β I hope one day that I will be like my own mom. Β If I achieve that goal in life, I’ll be happy forever.
After marrying Kurt, I gained a wonderful mother-in-law. Β I felt like family the minute I met her. Β She is sweet, kind, loving, full of life and filled with the Spirit. Β I feel so blessed to have another wonderful woman in my life.

Kurt and I are very blessed to have Mothers who know (Alma 56:47-48), and women in our lives who want the best for us.

Alexis

2 thoughts on “Mother’s Day

Leave a Reply

