Our First Month

IMG_4567

IMG_2315It’s been a month since the best day of our lives so far; we can’t believe our Baby Chad is 1 month old already! Time has passed so quickly and it’s incredible to see how Chad is changing everyday. It makes me a little sad seeing him get bigger and seeing his face change, but he gets cuter & cuter everyday. We have had so much fun within the first month!

  • Babci {my mom; Polish for Grandma} came and stayed with us. She came the day after Chad was born and stayed while Kurt went to Oregon to watch his brother, Jason, run his last collegiate race (the 10k at the NCAA Outdoor Track and Field Championship). Congrats to Jason on placing 3rd! I have no idea what I would’ve done without my mom with me for a week and a half.  She cooked, cleaned, ran errands, and did everything she could to help me with Chad.  She was there when I felt overwhelmed and she was there to share some laughs with me as we figured out how to take care of Chad.
  • Dziadziu {my dad; Polish for Grandpa} came up a week after we brought Chad home from the hospital. It was fun hearing about things my parents did when they had 3 young kids, two of them being twins {my sister and myself}. My parents were champs, taking care of us little girls. It was so wonderful having both of my parents visit!

  • Kurt’s whole family was in Utah after Jason’s race. It was wonderful being surrounded by family for several weeks.
  • Kurt gave Chad a beautiful blessing at church when he was 11 days old. I am the luckiest girl to be the wife of an incredible man and the mother of the most beautiful little angel boy.

IMG_2276IMG_2280

IMG_2272

 

  • We took family pictures with Kurt’s family. Fingers crossed Chad wants to go to BYU in 18 years! {I happen to be the only one who didn’t graduate from there. Fortunately, I attended school there for 2.5 years. It had been so long since I’d done anything associated with BYU that I had to go buy a BYU shirt because I didn’t have one haha}. Thank you, Heather (Flying Gull Photography) for taking such wonderful pictures!
  • Chad had his 2 week visit and it went so well! Stats- W: 8 lbs. 9 oz. (53%), H: 21″ (74%), Head: 84% (he’s got a big noggin). Chad was 14 oz. above his weight when he left the hospital and half a pound above his birth weight. We are so happy our boy is healthy and growing.
  • We celebrated our first Father’s Day within our little family. Kurt has been a terrific father and I can’t wait to see him grow in his new role in our family.
  • We try to go on several little family outings during the week to get us all out of the house: walks in the park, going to the mall, Provo Farmers Market, church, etc. It’s been so hot lately that we try to do things in the evening so we all don’t overheat. We love being out and about together.

It has been fun watching our Baby Chad develop likes and dislikes, what he does when he’s happy or upset, etc. When Chad gets fussy and frustrated, he snorts. It’s the cutest! But as cute as it is, we try to not let him stay frustrated. When you kiss him on the lips, he’ll open his mouth like he’s smiling and waiting for another one. He makes my heart so full. It’s those little things that make me love being a mommy.

Chad’s Favorite Things

• Warm baths • Skin to skin • Music • Clean diapers • Kisses • His hands • Lifting his head • Bouncing on an exercise ball with Mom or Dad • Being talked to • “Biting” his bottom lip •

Chad’s Least Favorite Things

• Being cold • Dirty diapers* • Being swaddled • Being left alone • Getting put in his car seat • Getting dressed • The sun •

*Kurt joked the other day that we change his diapers too early. Chad always seems to get a messy diaper right after we are done changing it.

My Favorite Things

• Morning snuggles • The way Chad scrunches his legs when I pick him up from a nap • Milk drunk smiles • Tiny baby clothes • Kissing his baby lips • Watching him discover his tongue • Itty bitty toes • Watching my two boys spend time together • Seeing his eyes lighten to the most beautiful blue • Holding him as he sleeps •

Observations From My First Month As A Mom

Motherhood is no joke. It’s a full-time job for me and even then there’s still stuff Kurt does as a Dad.  It took Kurt and I a while to get used to being parents, and even then we only have 1 month under our belt and we keep having to adjust because Chad is an ever-growing, ever-changing little guy.  I’ve learned a lot during my first month as a mom.

  • Sometimes 2:00 AM is the only time I have available to take a shower.
  • My skin is better than ever because I never put make up on.
  • Spit up, diaper changes, and other potentially gross baby things are far less gross when they come from your own child.
  • It is okay to ask for help.
  • I’ve talked more about poop now than I ever have in my entire life.
  • There is no one way or right way to do things. There are so many “right” ways to do things and every baby is different. (I’ll be honest though, some books have been helpful when it comes to giving me an idea of how to do things, what can/can’t be expected, etc.)
  • Sometimes my kid cries and there’s nothing I can do to calm him down so I let him cry and that’s 100% okay.
  • My doctor made no judgements about me nursing and bottle feeding Chad so I have no Mommy guilt when it comes to how my child is fed.
  • Summer was the perfect time to have a baby because it’s the perfect weather for sunglasses, meaning I can wear them all the time and no one will see the gargantuan bags under my eyes.
  • My husband is incredible and I love him so much more everyday. Plus, I’ve changed maybe 3 diapers between the hours of 10:00pm and 6:00am since Chad was born. I’ve got it sooo good.
  • I will never ask, “What do stay at home moms even do while they’re home?” again. {Note: they do a lot}
  • You can never have too many burp cloths.
  • White shorts + blowout = 😦 {Lesson Learned: Don’t wear white shorts}
  • I have so much more appreciation for my mother and motherhood in general. Kudos to mine and Kurt’s grandparents who all raised anywhere between 5-12 children, and our parents who raised us.
  • Motherhood is a job, and it’s the best job I will ever have.

IMG_4322

My Peanut with his Peanut Pal. One of my best friends, McKenzie, made Chad the CUTEST little Peanut “stuffed animal” in the world! I love that they’re the same size right now.

Our family is so much better being a family of 3.

Introducing Mr. and Mrs. Witt!

Leave a Reply

