5 Months

5months

IMG_2870

 

We are so in love with our wonderful 5 month old! I think this past month has been my favorite so far.  Chad has developed a big personality and has learned so many new things.  To think I had a baby almost half a year ago blows my mind.

At 5 months, Chad:

>> Can hold his own bottle.

>> Started eating “solid” food. It’s surprisingly a cleaner process than I anticipated. He LOVES it. So far he’s had oatmeal cereal, squash, green beans, and carrots.

>> Cries & screeches if he’s not getting fed fast enough; he dives for the spoon and flails his arms if he thinks you’re feeding him too slowly.

>> Loves to try and eat phones.

>> Doesn’t like rolling over.

>> Is a big fan of Giraffes. He has 3 giraffe toys now that he just can’t get enough of.

>> Celebrated his first Halloween.

>> Can sit up unassisted! I randomly decided to try to sit him up one morning, and he just stayed there. I couldn’t believe it! I am one proud mama 🙂

>> Likes to screech, grunt, scream, sigh, growl, etc.

>> Is ticklish under his chin and around his collar bone.

>> Enjoys sitting in his high chair (buying a high chair that has no fabric involved except for the straps has been the best. He has already proven to be a little bit of a messy eater and clean up has been a piece of cake).

>> Loves meeting new people. He is always smiling at people in the grocery store or at church. He’s such a little flirt!

Chad’s Favorite Things

Grabbing his toes • Listening to music • Watching our dancing Snoopy • Eating • Bathtime • Sitting in the cart at the store • Chewing on his toes • Talking to Dad on the phone • Seeing Dziadziu & Babci on FaceTime (he loves to FaceTime them!) • Going on walks • Standing while being held up by Mom or Dad • Looking at colorful things (cartoon movies, toys, etc.) •

Chad’s Least Favorite Things

Having his face wiped • Gas • Being put down for naps/bedtime • Falling over • Rolling • Being alone • Having things taken away from him • Loud noises/yelling • Dirty diapers • Being out of the house for too long • Being cold • When he pokes himself in the eye (happens all too often)


When Chad wakes up in the morning or from naps, I still expect to walk in there and see a tiny little baby staring up at me.  Now I walk into the room and I pick up a big, chunky, lovable baby that’s always babbling to himself.  I can’t imagine my family without him in it; it feels like he’s always been part of our family.  It makes me excited for the future of when our family continues to grow.

This past month has been hard for me emotionally because sometimes I feel like I’m not giving Chad the attention he needs.  He’s growing and changing so quickly and I almost can’t keep up. Sometimes I’m busy with work, church, or trying to run a somewhat functional household and I feel as though I’m missing out on helping Chad with his needs.  I know I’m pretty hard on myself & I should ease up, but it’s easier said than done.  I’m his whole world, so I’ve been working hard on trying to simplify my life and tell myself that it’s okay to need & ask for help and that I can’t expect myself to so do much all at once.  I’m learning about being a mother as I go, and I’m overwhelmed a lot.  I’ve learned that there is a lot you can do to prepare to be a mom, but there’s also a lot you can’t learn without actually experiencing it.

I’ve really enjoyed the learning process that comes with becoming a mother.  When I went to dental hygiene school to finish up my Bachelor degree, I knew after the first week that I was meant to be a dental hygienist.  I love helping people, associating with patients, and providing a service that can change people’s lives.  I became passionate about dental hygiene and what I could do for others.  I feel the same way about motherhood, except magnified by 1000. I am passionate about being a mother.  I love being there to see my son grow and develop skills and a personality.  Eventually I will watch him fall in love with sports, trucks, legos, music, and develop a passion for things like that.  I am meant to be a mother. I’ve always known that I wanted to be a mother and raise children.  Everything I have done in life has lead me to this and I am so grateful for the people who have helped & taught me along the way.  Life doesn’t always work out the way you want it to; curve balls always come your way and sometimes you have to take life one day at a time.  I’ve experienced this a lot over the last year, but I wouldn’t have it any other way.  My struggles in life, school, work, church, personal growth, and motherhood have all contributed to the person who I am right now.  And right now, I know that I am who I’m meant to be.  And that’s pretty great 🙂

IMG_2893

Alexis

 

Leave a Reply

