Birthday Week

We have grown to LOVE celebrating birthdays in our house. It all started when I thought we should celebrate for the whole month and Kurt thought that picking where you wanted to go to dinner on the day of your birthday was sufficient enough.  Therefore, celebrating birthdays for a week became a tradition for us. The way it works is that you start celebrating 7 days before the day of your birthday, that way the last day of your birthday week is your actually birthday.

My birthday week was incredible! It was filled with lots of good food, phone calls from friends and family, work (not so fun), and spending time together.

Let’s start with food.  I love food.  We went to a bunch of restaurants and bakeries and got some of my favorite things!

  • Cafe Zupas in American Fork, UT
  • Costa Vida in American Fork, UT
  • Vanilla Bean in Orem, UT- they have the BEST frozen hot chocolate! We actually went here and bought 7-8 different desserts and ate them for dinner.
  • Einstein’s Bagels- I have a great love for a freshly made bagel
  • Fiore Pizza (food truck)
  • Tucano’s Brazilian Grill in Orem, UT
  • Cravings Cupcakes in Pleasant Grove, UT
  • Sodalicious
  • Donuts, but I can’t remember where they are from

Activities! With food comes activities.  I love going out and doing things as a family.  We went to Foodtruck Roundup in Daybreak, UT.  A bunch of food trucks get together and park near a beautiful lake in Daybreak.  It’s the perfect place to go to have a “picnic” and enjoy the scenery.  We also went to Hogle Zoo in Salt Lake City, UT.  If it were just Kurt and me, we probably wouldn’t pick the zoo as a regular activity for us to do, but Chad loves animals and I wanted to do an activity that he would enjoy.  We had such a good time and Chad was amazed.  He barked at pretty much every animal because barking is the only animal noise he knows. We shopped at different malls in the Provo/Orem area, I got my eyelash extensions done…I just felt pampered the whole week! We spend a lot of time out and about during birthday week that at least 1 night during the week we pick a movie to watch and stay home.  Since we had so much going on last week, we stayed in a few nights and rented a couple movies.  We watched Zootopia (which I really loved, but then again I love all family friendly/kid movies), The Jungle Book (2016), the original Cinderella (animated, 1950), and the live-action Cinderella (2015).

  • Random fact about myself: I LOVE Cinderella.  She’s my favorite Disney princess, I was Cinderella for Halloween in 2012, and I own several Cinderella movies on DVD:
    • Cinderella (animated)
    • A Cinderella Story (Hillary Duff, 2004)
    • Another Cinderella Story (Selena Gomez, 2008)
    • A Cinderella Story: Once Upon a Song (Lucy Hale, 2011)

There is a 4th one called A Cinderella Story: If the Shoe Fits (2016) that I have yet to see (yes, I know it’s going to be cheesy & dumb, no I don’t care and I’ll watch it anyways).  I need to add Cinderella 2 & 3 (animated), the live-action made in 2015, and Cinderella (1997) with Brandi and Whitney Houston.

ANYWAYS, now it may seem like we played hard (and we did) but we worked hard that week too.  I’ve been doing dental hygiene part time from August to now, I’ve been working as a Shop Stevie Rep, and Kurt has been getting the hang of his NEW JOB! We’ve also been decorating the house and planning renovations, so that takes up a lot of time as well.

I want to thank all of you who wished me Happy Birthday, sent gifts & sent your love! It means so much to me. In all honesty, I tried not to focus too much on birthdays as I’ve gotten older because they seem less and less important to adults.  Then I forget that I’m down to celebrate pretty much anything, especially if it involves food, & I’m really not a huge fan of being an adult most of the time so I celebrate anyways.

Year 23 was so full of experiences: I celebrated my first mother’s day, bought a house, got a new job, made so many new friends, lost friends and loved ones,  had an infinite number of health issues, and I’ve felt more love from my husband and son than I ever thought possible. I hope year 24 brings me good health, loyal friends, a stronger relationship with my Savior, and more.

Shout out to my mother who is the real champ when it comes to my birthday.  After all, She is the one who gave birth to two babies that day!

Alexis

Leave a Reply

