Weeks 10-14

IMG_0127

Now that we have announced that our family is growing, I can update you all on how my pregnancy has been! (You can find pictures of our Valentine’s themed announcement here)

I found out I was pregnant on Friday, December 2nd.  The night before I had a Shop Stevie meet up in Salt Lake City, Utah and afterwards I felt so sick on the drive home.  Well, I went home and I had a cold, major stomach pains, and was throwing up.  Kurt told me immediately, “You’re pregnant.”  Of course I wanted him to be right but I kept on telling him, “No way! I didn’t feel this awful when I found out I was pregnant with Chad. I just had a cold.” I found out I was pregnant with Chad at 5 weeks because I had a terrible cold and apparently that’s a symptom of a recent pregnancy (who knew?!) The next day my headache hadn’t gone away, my stomach pains were still there and I had the worst stuffy nose, but no throwing up.  If I was pregnant, I’d only be 4 weeks and I was convinced if I took a pregnancy test and was pregnant, it still wouldn’t show up.  Kurt came home from work during lunch to buy me ginger ale, crackers…and a pregnancy test. He went back to work and I decided I couldn’t wait and I took the test and it was positive.  Obviously I started crying because I had been waiting for this moment for a year and I took enough negative pregnancy test during those past 12 months that I never wanted to take a pregnancy test again.  I told Kurt when he came home, but I didn’t really need to tell him I was pregnant because he said he already knew and I was so sick that it was pretty obvious. As excited as I was, it was hard to get fully excited when morning sickness kicked in at 4 weeks.  Overall, Baby Bear and I are healthy and that’s all I can ask for and I’ve accepted the fact that I’m just going to be sick all the time (even though I’d rather not be) and I am so excited to have another baby!

 

WEEK 10

FullSizeRender

Size: 

  • Fruit/Veg: Kumquat
  • Animal: Cardinal Tetra Fish
  • Bakery: Petit four
  • Toys & games: Lego minifigure

Gender: i can honestly say that I really have no incling or idea of whether this baby is a boy or girl. My “mother’s intuition” during my last pregnancy told me girl all the way…and we all know how that turned out. Really, I’m just grateful to be pregnant!

Baby names: We had names picked out when I was pregnant with Chad and our favorites haven’t changed. After trying for a year to get pregnant, we new the names we liked long before we found out we were expecting; but baby’s name won’t be announced until after birth.

Cravings: Random stuff, nothing really consistent except for my love of carbs!

Aversions: Again, its random. One day I like something, the next day it’s revolting.

Symptoms: Cramps, morning sickness, fatigue, thirst…the typical symptoms

Nausea/Morning Sickness: I got morning sickness before I knew I was pregnant… that should tell you enough for now

Movement: None felt yet!

Sleep: Not good but not bad

Maternity Clothes: None yet but I am showing a lot sooner than I did with Chad.

Wedding ring on/off?: On

Favorite Moment of the Week: One day I was so busy with a Shop Stevie photoshoot, pregnancy announcement photo shoot, lunch at Kneaders, shopping, AND dessert at the Cheesecake Factory! I was so tired but it was so much fun.

I also had my first appointment this week with my doctor. Chad and I got to see the baby and we drove straight to Kurt’s work afterwards to show him the pictures and video.  There’s just something about hearing your baby’s heartbeat and watching them move that makes your heart happy.

Least Favorite Moment of the Week: My morning/all-day sickness

Looking Forward To: Resting! I wore myself out this week!


WEEK 11

IMG_0121

Size:

  • Fruit/Veg: Brussels Sprout
  • Animal: Bee hummingbird
  • Bakery: Profiterole (fancy word for cream puff- which are my FAVORITE)
  • Toys & games: Poker chip

Gender: Still don’t know…leaning toward girl but would be happy either way

Baby names: I keep trying to think of new names that we can consider but we keep going back to the old ones.

Cravings: Carbs

Aversions: Mexican food

Symptoms: Nausea, fatigue, heartburn, thirst, headaches, back aches, heightened sense of smell

Nausea/Morning Sickness: Not bad but not great.  I get sick instantly when I smell something I don’t like.  Unfortunately it could be something totally out of the blue or the dinner I just made that I was craving earlier.

Movement: None yet, but I’m excited for when I can feel our little baby move.

Sleep: Could be worse, but I wish it was better.

Maternity Clothes: None yet.  I wear a lot of leggings and dresses to avoid having to put on jeans

Wedding ring on/off?: On

Favorite Moment of the Week: We got our passport applications in! We’re planning a vacation and having passports was necessary.  I’m excited- I’ve never left the U.S.! (except for Canada but I don’t count that because it was to go to Niagra Falls and you didn’t need passports at the time- you literally walked through a building and through a revolving door.)

Least Favorite Moment of the Week: Chad wearing me out.  That kid is just 110% energy nonstop and it’s sooo hard for me to keep up! He does a great job of balancing everything though.  He knows when he needs to entertain himself or when his mom needs a hug and kiss.

Looking Forward To: A relaxing week.  I don’t have much on my schedule for next week so I’m all about R&R for a full 7 days 🙂


WEEK 12

IMG_0122

Size:

  • Fruit/Veg: Apricot
  • Animal: Roborovski hamster
  • Bakery: Small Ladurée macaron
  • Toys & games: Toy Soldier

Gender: I’ve been thinking boy this week.  I’m not one who will be disappointed in whatever gender our baby is.  I would love a boy because then Chad could have a buddy to grow up with- that’s what Kurt had with his brothers and that’s what I had (but with my sisters).  But I would love a girl too because I already have a boy.  Right now I’m just so grateful to be pregnant that I really don’t have a preference except for that I would prefer to have a healthy baby at the end of my pregnancy.

Baby names: Still thinking about the ones we came up with when I was pregnant with Chad.  We have our girl name pretty much set in stone.  For a boy, it’s up in the air but we think we have a top 2.  I almost feel like it’s too early to have a name picked out because I’ll be going my entire pregnancy keeping the name on the DL and that’s always hard for me haha.  But I’m sure we’ll have a better idea of the name once we know the gender (obviously!)

Cravings: Carbs & vanilla ice cream.  There’s something about eating vanilla ice cream after getting my morning sickness that calms my stomach down.  I’ve never thrown up after eating it which is probably why I like it so much.

Aversions: Random stuff that I don’t think I have an aversion to until I smell it or make it.  I feel like it’s not that I can’t eat a lot of stuff, but a lot of food just sounds unappetizing or gross.

Symptoms: Nausea, fatigue, thirst, hunger, dry skin

Nausea/Morning Sickness: Thinking about it makes me sick…

Movement: None yet!

Sleep: I wish I slept better.  I have this 30 minute routine I’ve been starting to do every night that helps me relax.  I’ve had to switch to taking sleeping pills more regularly or else I don’t get the sleep I need and I’m useless the next day.  Unfortunately I’ve had a whole slew of health problems over the past several years and sleep helps keep those at bay.  I need a good 10 hours of sleep a night, on average, when I’m not pregnant.

Maternity Clothes: None yet, but I’ve been avoiding anything in my closet that shows my bump because we haven’t announced our pregnancy publicly yet.

Wedding ring on/off?: On

Favorite Moment of the Week: We started of week 12 in the best way- cinnamon rolls & hot chocolate for breakfast from Vanilla Bean (our favorite bakery in Orem, UT).  We went shopping and walked around the mall with Chad and we just had the best time together as a family. We also told several friends about our expanding family! It’s so fun to see everyone’s reactions and excitement for us.

Least Favorite Moment of the Week: I’ve been really stressed out trying to get everything organized for Boy Scouts.  The stress wears me out!

Looking Forward To: Booking our vacation!  We are planning on taking a vacation to celebrate our anniversary & Kurt’s 30th birthday.


WEEK 13

IMG_0123

Size:

  • Fruit/Veg: Jalepeño
  • Animal: Clownfish (I’m assuming a pretty small clownfish- like Nemo sized haha)
  • Bakery: Large ladurée macaron
  • Toys & games: Matchbox car

Gender: I’m thinking it’s a boy again this week. Kurt and I were looking through old pictures of Chad and it made me love the idea of having another little boy. I’m also rooting for a girl just because I’m stubborn: of the 3 of Kurt’s siblings that have kids/are expecting and then including us, all have had a boy first. For those who have had more than 1, their second was a boy & their third was a girl. Maybe we’ll break the trend, maybe not. Only a few weeks left until we find out!

Baby names: I’ve tried not to think about baby names much because we don’t know the gender. For us, names are pretty hypothetical until we know the gender of the baby, and we both know that we will never decide 100% on one baby name before the baby is born. There’s something about looking at your baby for the first time and just knowing that their name is meant to be rather than choosing it before hand and being totally set on it just because you like the name. It’s all personal preference though!

We love names that aren’t traditional but also bames that aren’t trendy. We do our best to avoid the Top 10 baby names for the year. Our girl name of choice is very popular, but we love it so much we are willing to make an exception. We loved the name Chad because it’s a name that everyone knows and recognizes, but we haven’t met anyone close to Chad’s age that shares his name because it was more popular 25-30 years ago.

We did decide that middle names will be a family name or a name of significance to us.

Cravings: I always want vanilla ice cream, especially after a bout of morning sickness. It just makes me feel better.

Aversions: Talking about food. I was talking about food aversions with someone and I had to put the conversation on hold to go throw up. I don’t know what it is but I really don’t like talking about food. It makes me sick.

Symptoms: Fatigue, lack of sleep, super dry skin, headaches, morning sickness, dehydration, loss of appetite, and a road map of STRETCH MARKS in my stomach!!!! I’ve lost 5 pounds during this pregnancy and I get stretch marks for it…ugh.

Nausea/Morning Sickness: Its been a lot worse this week than it was last week.

Movement: None yet. I was 16 weeks along when I felt Chad move so I’m hoping to feel this baby move around that  time.

Sleep: It’s been rough this week! I didn’t have problems sleeping during my first pregnancy until much later on so I’ve never experienced this before!

Maternity Clothes: None yet but I think they’ll make a sooner appearance in this pregnancy.

Wedding ring on/off?: On

Favorite Moment of the Week: Our family night to Harmons. There’s a Harmons grocery store on the other side of town and it’s was my first time going and it was so fun walking around and trying new things and looking at al the fun food they have!

Least Favorite Moment of the Week: Getting sick in the most random places

Looking Forward To: Valentine’s Day: we will be announcing my pregnancy & I have an appointment with my doctor.


WEEK 14

IMG_0125

Size:

  • Fruit/Veg: Brilliant Beet
  • Animal: House mouse
  • Bakery: Mille-feuille (Napoleon)
  • Toys & games: Troll doll

Gender: Still thinking boy!

Baby names: Haven’t thought of any new ones this week. Since I’m still thinking boy, I’ve been thinking about the boy names we picked out when I was pregnant with Chad and we still seem to like the several we’ve come up with but haven’t been able to narrow it down yet. I think it’s hard to narrow it down when you don’t know the gender!

Someone asked me, “What if you don’t tell people the name you plan on using and then a friend or family member uses the same name?”  And to that I say the same thing every time: I can’t help if I like a name and someone else does too.  There are 3 girls named Alexis on my mom’s side of the family, and 3 girls named Christine on my dad’s side of the family, including a couple of Harrisons, John Pauls, & Galens. So having a cousin with the same name really doesn’t phase me one bit. Kurt has a couple of cousins that have the same name and I really don’t think it’s a big deal.  Are you really going to change a name you love that your child will be known by their whole life just because someone else you know chose to use the same name?  Some do change, but I don’t feel the need to stake a claim on anything. 🙂

Cravings: Vanilla ice cream & salad

Aversions: Anything with a really strong smell.

Symptoms: Nausea, lack of sleep, frequently hungry, thirst, ligament pains, headaches, bloody noses

Nausea/Morning Sickness: It’s really great some days and others it’s the worst! It comes in waves and I just can’t control it.  I already have a very heightened sense of smell and then I become a bloodhound when I’m pregnant.

Movement: None yet!

Sleep: It’s been pretty terrible this week but that’s because Chad has bronchitis and is up every hour coughing and crying

Maternity Clothes: thankfully no- I like being able to wear my original wardrobe. Jeans are getting tighter but still fit

Wedding ring on/off?: On

Favorite Moment of the Week: As lame as it sounds, I went to a Dental Hygiene CE course and I loved it! We also went to Ogden to celebrate my sister-in-law’s birthday.

Least Favorite Moment of the Week: Chad getting sick!

Looking Forward To: Valentine’s Day, announcing my pregnancy, going to the doctor to check on Baby Bear, and hopefully getting Chad better!!

 

This was a long post…sorry! Now you are all up-to-date on all things Pregnancy #2/Baby Bear related.  Can’t wait to continue to update you all and to share with you this special phase of life!

 

Alexis

 

Leave a Reply

