Weeks 16 & 17

WEEK 16

IMG_4722

Size:

  • Fruit/Veg: Avocado
  • Animal: Philippine tarsier
  • Bakery: Poire belle Hélène
  • Toys & games: Action figure

Gender: I’ve been thinking girl but maybe it’s because I see so many cute little baby girls everywhere I go and I just think they are the cutest! But Chad has been sooooooo adorable lately so sometimes I think boy because I want another mini Kurt/Chad.

Baby Names: No changes in the names we pick. I’ve been thinking of some just in case though. I’m really not a huge fan of trendy names, but I’m even a less fan of more traditional names. So we’re trying to find a balance. Unfortunately, our girl name is pretty popular but it sounds so cute that there’s no way we are getting rid of it. Plus, boys are hard to come up with names for!! I’ve been looking through name lists to see whether anything jumps out, but usually the top 100 names on each list are a little too trendy for me.

Cravings: Ice cream & pizza (not together, obviously)

Aversions: Chili, salsa, Peppers

Symptoms: Headaches, dry skin, nausea, exhaustion, STRETCH MARKS 😦 I didn’t get many until I was 30+ weeks with Chad and now I have them everywhere! I don’t think the dry skin is helping with that though.

Nausea/Morning Sickness: I think the throwing up is gone, but I still get nauseous if I don’t eat every 2 hours. I really only throw up if I walk into a room and instantly smell something totally awful- that’s how I found out I wasn’t in the mood for peppers haha

Movement: I think I’ve felt Baby Bear move a few times. It’s so hard to tell though because it’s so soft.

Sleep: I’ve been sleeping pretty well but I have the weirdest dreams. I had pretty weird dreams with Chad and they’re even more weird this time around!

Maternity Clothes: Jeans are getting reeeeally tight right now so I’m sure that’ll be the first thing to go once I transition over to maternity clothes

Wedding Ring on/off?: On!

Favorite Moment of the Week: We spent a lot of time together as a family this week. It’s been so nice playing with Chad. We went to Nickel City with him on Saturday and he just kept running around with a look of shock on his face- I think the flashing lights and crazy sounds were so amazing to him. But his favorite “game” was riding the mini carousel sitting on the elephant. We took him to a basketball game (5th grade level) and he had so much fun watching! He enjoys watching basketball much more when Kurt isn’t playing the game and is watching with him instead.

Chad is also over his bronchitis and we are so grateful his is healthy.

Also, I bought a double stroller. WHAT?! Even though Chad will be just over 2 when Baby Bear arrives, I know we’ll still need a stroller but the fact that I will need one for my 2 babies blows my mind! Plus, it’s always a proud moment when you buy things on sale*.

* According to Kurt, nothing is every on sale. Which is true, because a company is always making money as long as they sell it to you for more than it cost them to make/manufacture/purchase it. But I’m not going to let Kurt burst my bubble on this one! 😂

Least Favorite Moment of the Week: I got the WORST cramps and stomach ache on Saturday and I had no idea why it hurt so badly. I changed out of jeans and into sweats and I felt much better. Note to self: start wearing maternity jeans sooner rather than later.

Looking Forward To: We are continuing to plan our vacation for Kurt and me. We are very much looking forward to celebrating Kurt’s birthday/4 years of marriage/our growing family. 


WEEK 17

IMG_4735

Size:

  • Fruit/Veg: Pomegranate
  • Animal: Chipmunk
  • Bakery: Crème Brûlée
  • Toys & games: Game console controller

Gender: ive been thinking boy this week. I know, I change pretty much every week but I just can’t help it because I’m still anxious in the sense of not knowing. We’ve had a few people ask why we don’t find out earlier. I think the biggest thing is that the outcome won’t change whether you find out and 14, 16, or 20 weeks, so we just wait until we get an ultrasound that’s covered by insurance to find out the gender. It’s probably a great thing though, because that puts off 4-6 weeks of me spending money on Baby Bear and I know Kurt feels great about that haha! We are so excited to find out and I am anxious/nervous. We kept the gender a secret for a long time when I was pregnant with Chad…not sure how long we’ll wait with this one.

Baby Names: I asked Kurt again, “So…have you thought of any baby names?” And he said, “Nope! Why do I need to when we don’t know the gender?” *insert eyeroll from annoyed, moody, pregnant wife* I understand that he has a point…so I’ve put off thinking about names too because I really am not looking for more things to be stressed about.
Cravings: No cravings, just aversions.

Aversions: Anything that has a lot of sodium. Salt has been the worst and processed food sounds absolutely disgusting.

Symptoms: Nausea, lack of sleep, thirst, back pain, legs falling asleep

Nausea/Morning Sickness: It gets bad when I smell something awful or if I don’t eat frequently, but I’m past the phase of feeling nauseous 24/7.

Movement: I think so! It’s still hard to tell. I felt like it was more obvious when I was pregnant with Chad, but every baby is different and my body is different than it was during my first pregnancy. I have an appointment in a few weeks so I’m hoping to feel Baby Bear by then!

Sleep: It’s alright. It’s sooo hard for me to fall asleep 😦

Maternity Clothes: I’m in the weird phase where my jeans are too tight but my maternity jeans are too big and fall down. So leggings, sweatpants, and dresses have been my BFFs

Wedding Ring on/off?: On

Favorite Moment of the Week: We’ve spent a lot of time together as a family this week. We’ve tried hard to focus more on Chad when we have the time to spend with him before he goes to bed.

Also, I don’t share much about me being a Shop Stevie rep, but this week was a great week for my Shop Stevie business. Thank you all SO much for your love and support when it comes to my business adventure. It means a lot that you have my back and are rooting for my success xoxo

Least Favorite Moment of Week: I wouldn’t say it’s been one moment, but it’s been hard not having a lot of energy lately. 

Looking Forward To: My twin visiting! She comes next week and I haven’t seen her since JULY! So it’ll be nice for her to see Chad and for us to spend time together. We are going to the Salt LDS Retreat in Salt Lake City which we’re both really looking forward to.

I haven’t done an update about Chad in a while because we haven’t been to the doctor and I don’t do monthly updates for him.  Chad is 21 months and absolutely full of life.  He’s starting to talk more & more which is so fun for us.  Here are some of his favorite words.

Bear/Bears • Rice • Spoon (poon) • Sticker (tih-eh) • Apple (Pah poh ) • Chip (tip) • Bum (bumma) • Up/down stairs (tairs) • Lollipop (pop pop) • Elephant (eleh) • Tiger (digah) • Dinner (dinn) • Bread (bleh) • Banana (blah) • Milk (mil) • Blue (boo) • Ball • Puppy • Baby • Go! (doh!)

Chad loves Baby Bear already and is always coming up to me when I’m sitting on the couch and kisses my bump.  He’s going to be such a good big brother! His favorite food is Rice and he asks for it for every meal.  He also loves bottles of milk and “Baba mil?” is a frequent question in our house. He’s obsessed with animals and his current favorites are bears, elephants, lions, giraffes, and puppies.  We aren’t sure where he learned the term “puppy” but it’s so cute when he says it! He likes to say “yuck” and we are working on teaching him “Please” (peeeesss).  He saw brownies on the counter one morning and he ran over to them and said, “Mama, peeeesss?” and he had never said it on his own before so that morning we had brownies for breakfast (I’m a cool mom, huh?).  It’s still not a habit for him but he’s doing better.  He loves to race and is always running, and if you say “I love…” he will excitingly exclaim, “YOU!” which is probably my favorite thing he knows how to say.  He’s still quite tall for his age and forgets that he’s little compared to everyone else.  Despite all of that, I’m so glad we have a friendly, adventurous boy who loves to try new things.

IMG_9857

I love my family & we are so grateful for each other.

Alexis

Leave a Reply

