Weeks 22-24

WEEK 22

Size:

  • Fruit/Veg: Ear of corn, Coconut
  • Animal: American Guinea Pig
  • Bakery: Flaugnarde
  • Toys & games: Water bottle

Gender: Boy! I am so excited. Sometimes I think my nerves come from the thought of having 2 boys, but I know they really stem from my nerves of having 2 kiddos in general. I’m so excited to have another little boy to love, though.

Baby Names: We’ve had a hard time with names this time around! We have 2 we keep jumping back and forth with, but I try to stay open to ideas since we aren’t totally convinced yet.

Cravings: Popcorn.  I got a stove top popcorn popper for Christmas from my sister and it’s gotten a lot of use!

Aversions: Bad smells

Symptoms: Back pain, ligament pain, abdominal cramps

Nausea/Morning Sickness: This seems to have gone away completely.  I get headaches when I don’t drink enough water, but nothing that makes me feel sick.

Movement: A lot! I’m constantly feeling him move and I love it! As of right now the kicking is gentle enough that it doesn’t hurt…hopefully it stays that way for a while.

Sleep: I’ve had a hard time sleeping, but I still get enough sleep so I can’t complain too much.

Maternity Clothes: Yes! Fortunately I wear a lot of tops and dresses from my original wardrobe so I haven’t had to purchase a lot.

Wedding Ring on/off?: On

Favorite Moment of the Week: I got to really relax this week. I don’t get to do that often, so it’s been nice spending time together as a family and not feeling stressed.

Least Favorite Moment of the Week: None 🙂

Looking Forward To: Going to the doctor next week! I look forward to my appointments because I’m always up for hearing Baby Bear’s heartbeat and having a doctor say that he’s healthy.  I also work as a dental hygienist next week, so I’m excited to do that as well.


WEEK 23


Size:

  • Fruit/Veg: Bunch of grapes, Grapefruit
  • Animal: Chincilla
  • Bakery: Buche de Noel
  • Toys & games: Barbie doll

Gender: Boy 🙂 I’m getting more accustomed to the fact that we are having another boy every week. I’m just really nervous about having another boy. Chad hit the terrible twos early, so I’m feeling overwhelmed with that, and the thought of having another boy kid of sends my mind into panic mode. I’m sure by the time Baby Bear comes, I’ll be totally ready…ish haha.

Baby Names: We are still discussing this.  I wish it wasn’t so hard to pick a name! Kurt knows that I don’t really like trendy names, but I don’t like super traditional either.  Narrows down our selection quite a bit haha.

Cravings: Sweets! I don’t feel like I’m usually a sweets person but this week that’s all I want!

Aversions: None

Symptoms: The worst pelvic cramps. Oh my gosh, they’re almost debilitating!  I can’t even roll over in bed without pain.

Nausea/Morning Sickness: None! 🙂

Movement: So much movement! I can see when he kicks, which is weird but cool at the same time.

Sleep: Still not great, but Kurt does a wonderful job of taking care of Chad when they both wake up early so I can get the rest that my body needs.  I have health issues that flare up when I don’t get enough sleep, plus growing a human takes a lot of energy, so sleep is pretty vital and I am so grateful Kurt & Chad are there to help me out.

Maternity Clothes: Yep! My maternity jeans fit a little better now, so I wear those a little more consistently.  A lot of my tops are maternity friendly, as well as most of my dresses.  Dressing for church isn’t nearly as hard as it was when I was pregnant with Chad.  I think that’s probably because I’ve seriously updated my wardrobe in the last year with all things Shop Stevie 😉

Wedding Ring on/off?: On

Favorite Moment of the Week: We had a very busy week.  I had my 22 week appointment halfway through the week, I worked as a dental hygienist, I had a Shop Stevie photoshoot, plus we had Stake Conference and preparing for Easter! I like staying busy, but sometimes it’s hard for my body to keep up.

Least Favorite Moment of the Week: I don’t think it was really a moment, but it definitely takes me longer to recover from things while being pregnant.  I’m just so tired all the time and a full day of work wipes me out!  I’m super grateful that I get to spend most of my time as a stay at home mom and that Kurt has been given work opportunities that make it so I can pick up an day or two of work when I want to.

Looking Forward To: Easter, working as a dental hygienist again, and staying on top of my cleaning schedule 😉

WEEK 24


Size:

  • Fruit/Veg: Garden eggplant, cantaloupe
  • Animal: Atlantic Puffin
  • Bakery: Demi baguette
  • Toys & games: G.I. Joe

Gender: Boy 🙂 I’ve been talking to a lot of people who have 2 boys and I’m getting more and more excited. I’m still a little nervous, but I’m getting more used to the idea of being a boy mom.

I am one of those people who tends to care more about what other people think than I should.  I let their negative comments about being a boy mom bother me & that has impacted this pregnancy and my attitude more than it should.  This sweet boy that’s joining our family doesn’t deserve that.  He’s going to be tied with Chad when it comes to being the most loved boy in the entire world.  All in all, I’m so grateful to be blessed with two boys and to have the opportunity to raise them to be hard working & honest young men.  Plus, I think Chad is probably the cutest kid in the world, so I don’t mind having another little guy as cute as him!

Baby Names: HELP! We have a few on the list. I think the thing that bothers me the most is that a lot of names no longer have meanings or originate from somewhere. Alexis means “helper of mankind, noble”, Kurt means “courteous” and Chad means “protector, defender”. I’ve always liked looking up the meanings of names (how many of you had one of those cards growing up that had your name and the meaning of it written on it? I thought they were so cool!) but more recent names don’t have meanings because a lot of them are made up. We’ll see whether this influences the name we choose. Kurt doesn’t have a preference on whether the name has an official meaning or not, so we will see.

Cravings: Sweets…chocolate, chewy candy, sour jelly beans…you name it!

Aversions: None…I even ate salsa this week (which is something I couldn’t do until months after I had Chad).

Symptoms: Back pain, joint pain, hives,

Nausea/Morning Sickness: fortunately none! I hope it stays that way for the rest of my pregnancy.

Movement: Lots! Baby Bear is always moving. His kicks and rolls are still in the more comfortable phase where they aren’t strong enough to hurt or take my breath away. If he’s anything like his older brother, that day will come!

Sleep: I haven’t been sleeping well but Kurt has been so good about helping me get the sleep I need. Unfortunately most of the time that means not seeing him before he leaves for work and I wake up to a kiss on the cheek and him leaving, but he has been so helpful.

Maternity Clothes: Yes! But I also wear a lot of Shop Stevie clothes in my regular size, so that’s been awesome.

Wedding Ring on/off?: On!

Favorite Moment of the Week: I had a huge miracle happen this week when it came to changing my flight plans in May. I went to check the date and time of one of my flights and I was scheduled to leave the day before I thought I was leaving. The airline charges $200 to change your flight if you make changes after 24 hours from scheduling your flight…I didn’t notice until a week later! I called customer service and they changed my flight and waived the $200 fee. I had been stressing so much about switching my flight and paying the fee. My prayers were answered!

We also celebrated being in our house for ONE YEAR! It’s so crazy to think that we bought our house a year ago. We are still in the buying furniture/hanging pictures phase, but we LOVE having a beautiful, spacious place to call Home.

Least Favorite Moment of the Week: The aches & pains of pregnancy have hit hard this week, especially because I’ve worked a few times more this month than I have in the past. Also the stress of figuring out how to change my flight was causing lack of sleep, so I’m glad all of that is behind me.

Looking Forward To: Kurt & I celebrate our 4 year wedding anniversary next week! So weird to think we’ve been married for 4 years. It doesn’t seem that long, but at the same time I hardly remember life without Kurt. He’s been my rock & friend for so long, I don’t know what I’d do without him.

Alexis

Leave a Reply

