Weeks 27-29

Size:

  • Fruit/Veg: Bunch of Bananas, Rutabaga, Head of lettuce
  • Animal: Fennec fox
  • Bakery: Charlotte Royals cake
  • Toys & games: Camping lantern

Gender: Boy. I continue to get more and more excited for another boy to join our family. I’m extremely curious as to what he is going to look like!

Baby Names: You guys…I think we’ve picked one! It’s still going to take some getting used to because we just call him Baby Bear, but it’ll get a few test runs over the next few weeks to see whether it fits well.

Cravings: Still craving sweets!

Aversions: none really, but there’s a handful of things that just don’t sound very appetizing, like chili.

Symptoms: pelvic girdle pain, fatigue, thirst, exhaustion, swollen feet, headaches, back pain.

Nausea/Morning Sickness: my motion sickness has kind of been getting out of control. I get really sick if I’m not the one driving.

Movement: I’ve felt a lot of movement! It’s starting to get painful and uncomfortable though. I expected that sometime around, but it’s still not fun getting jabbed in the ribs without notice.

Sleep: My sleep quality is so different during this pregnancy than it was with Chad’s. I don’t have to wake up in the middle of the night for bathroom breaks or anything, but it’s so much harder to get comfortable this time around. I need a mountain of pillows and a sleeping pill if I’m going to have any prayer of waking up well rested.

Maternity Clothes: I bought a pair of maternity shorts and 2 maternity shirts. Something tells me that I’m going to need more shirts haha. I’ve been surviving on dresses and the shirts I already have, but I’m carrying much lower than I did Chad so my regular shirts fit but aren’t long enough.

Wedding Ring on/off?: On! I remember around this time with my pregnancy with Chad I wasn’t wearing it anymore, so I love that the swelling hasn’t come on full force yet.

Favorite Moment of the Week: Mothers Day weekend. My boys have spoiled me! I also had a doctor’s appointment and it went well. I had a nice little chat with my doctor about how I hope labor and delivery go. Everyone says that labor and delivery with your second is much faster. I’m all for that!

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

I totally spaced when it came to making sweet pork burritos one night…thankfully there is a Costa Vida close by and I have amazing boys in my life who are willing to see past my pregnancy brain and buy me food 🙂

Mother's Day Box

My gorgeous Mother’s Day gift from Kurt & Chad. Included were the BEST caramel apples I’ve ever had.

We officially picked the hospital I plan on delivering at, and the hospital I will deliver at if I go into labor before 37 weeks. The hospital is 20 minutes away, but we’ve heard so many good things about it and it’s close to Kurt’s work. Kurt got pretty bored in the hospital while I was in labor and after I had Chad. He got so bored that he went to work the next day! 😂  With work being so close, it also gives me comfort that if I were to go into labor in the middle of the day, Kurt is already close by.

Least Favorite Moment of the Week: Fasting, and drinking that nasty drink for my glucose test. Chad wanted to drink it so badly! It took a lot of convincing that it wasn’t yummy juice or punch. After seeing my facial expressions as I drank it, he probably got the memo.

Looking Forward To: I take a trip to Maryland next week! I’m not looking forward to leaving Kurt and Chad behind. I really don’t love going on trips by myself. It’s really hard for me to be away from Kurt & Chad. Kurt will take a solo trip to Michigan in a few weeks and we both aren’t super excited that he’s going by himself. But you do what you gotta do and we plan on doing our best to enjoy ourselves.

Chad’s 2nd birthday is coming up! Kurt won’t be here to celebrate with us, but I hope Chad enjoys hanging out with his mommy.

I really didn’t ask many questions when I had Chad. I just went into the hospital, did everything they told me to do, and things ended up just fine in the end. I didn’t have many expectations when it came to labor & delivery because I truly didn’t know what to expect and I didn’t want to get upset if things didn’t go the way I planned. This time around I have just a few expectations of what I do/don’t want to happen, so hopefully we can achieve a positive labor experience. Mostly, I’ll just be happy if I don’t have to push for 2.5 hours and Baby Bear is breathing when he is born (2 things that made for a not-so-fun L&D experience with Chad). 

 

WEEK 28


Size:

  • Fruit/Veg: Tropical Coconut
  • Animal: Echidna
  • Bakery: Couronne bread
  • Toys & games: Rollerblade


Gender: Boy. Which reminds me that I need to go through all of Chad’s old clothes and figure out what I need to buy to fill in all the holes from Chad ruining clothes and what not. If Baby Bear is anything like his older brother, he will be big, long, and ripping the snaps out of onesies because they’ll be too small before we know it!

Baby Names: Gosh, I almost feel guilty every time I come to this because we still haven’t agreed on a name. And it’s not that we just don’t agree, we don’t love any of the name choices we’ve come up with. You can’t settle on a name…it’s not worth it. I’m at the point where I don’t know whether I should be looking for a new name or trying to love one of the names we’ve already come up with. Naming a kid is no joke!

Cravings: Peanut butter & chocolate. I could really go for a Blenders right now!

Aversions: None

Symptoms: Lack of sleep, sore throat, bloody nose, sciatic nerve pain, pelvic girdle pain, back aches, head aches, anemia.

Nausea/Morning Sickness: None!!!

Movement: Baby Bear wakes me up every morning without fail, which I know that talent of his will continue after he is born. I’ve started to get some pretty hard kicks to the ribs and he rolls around quite a bit. I’ve never felt him have the hiccups, though! Chad had them daily for the last half of my pregnancy and I haven’t felt them once this time around!

Sleep: Sometimes good, sometimes bad. I take a sleeping pill the nights I need a good night of sleep. I don’t have to wake up in the middle of the night to use the restroom which is nice.

Maternity Clothes: Yes. I do need to go buy more shirts though…I’ve been rotating the same couple shirts into my wardrobe every week or 2 so I need to get a few more that will continue to fit through the rest of my pregnancy.

Wedding Ring on/off?: On!

Favorite Moment of the Week: Visiting family in the D.C. area. My older sister graduated from Uniformed Services University of the Health Sciences as an MD (Doctor of Medicine), so we gathered for her graduation. She’s off to do her residency in General Surgery in San Diego, CA. It’s pretty crazy to think that my older sister is now a doctor, but we are all super proud of her accomplishment.

Least Favorite Moment of the Week: Leaving Kurt and Chad behind to go to the East Coast. I don’t like when we don’t get to travel as a family.

Looking Forward To: Chad’s birthday, Memorial Day, my next appointment with my OBGYN, and relaxing.

 

WEEK 29


Size:

  • Fruit/Veg: Hawaiian Pineapple
  • Animal: New England Cottontail Rabbit
  • Bakery: Fougasse
  • Toys & games: Barbie Convertible

Gender: Boy! I’ve been thinking about how Chad is going to be having a little brother. It gets me nervous but SO excited because Chad loves babies so much.

Baby Names: Ugh…still just waiting for the right one. We haven’t talked about names much over the past week, so hopefully a name comes to us soon!

Cravings: None really, but I’m really digging peanut butter right now

Aversions: None 🙂

Symptoms: backache, acid reflux, pelvic girdle pain, muscle spasms

Nausea/Morning Sickness: No nausea or anything, but I got a gnarly cold this week that just won’t seem to go away. Everyday it gets worse!

Movement: Baby Bear sure knows how to rock n roll. He is getting more skilled at kicking my ribcage in the same spot over and over again.

Sleep: Not great. I’ve had a really hard time sleeping through the night with my backaches and pelvic girdle pain.

Maternity Clothes: I need to get more! I’m seriously running out of shorts to wear because I don’t have enough!

Wedding Ring on/off?: Still on and I am so happy about that!

Favorite Moment of the Week: Seeing my boys! I flew back to Utah on Tuesday morning and I was so happy to be reunited with them. They are my world and I always miss them terribly when we are together.

Least Favorite Moment of the Week: Getting sick and losing one of my favorite shoes. I got off the plane and into the car with two flip flops, and I got out of the car at my house with one. I have no idea how it happened, but I still haven’t gotten over it. They’re the most comfortable shoes ever and I think I might need another pair if I’m going to survive the summer being pregnant.

Looking Forward To: Going to the dentist, filling out more recipe cards (that’s been my project of the week), and being reunited with Kurt. He hasn’t left yet, but I’m already looking forward to him coming home 🙂 Also, Chad turns 2 on Saturday!  We love our big boy.  You’ll read more about him within the next few weeks when I do his 2 year update, but I just have to say how much I love being this boy’s mommy.  He can be rough and crazy sometimes, but I’ve never seen anyone with a more pure heart than his.  He is so observant when it comes to the emotions of others, especially me.  There have been emotional times for me over the past several weeks.  Chad is always asking, “Mommy, howah you? (Mommy, how are you?”) and “Mommy, tay?” (Mommy, are you okay?”).  He gives me kisses every morning, loves snuggling and cuddling with me, and is always giving me a hug and saying thank you.  My heart bursts with love & pride for his sweet spirit!

 

I seriously can’t believe we only have 11 weeks until another boy joins our family! I’m nervous, excited, scared, overwhelmed, happy, and so many other emotions all rolled into one…still.  Chad came 3 days early, so it could be even sooner than 11 weeks.  I remember packing my hospital bag for Chad and going to Costco that same day thinking I still had 4 days to prep for baby.  Fortunately I was such a planner that I was totally prepared when I went into labor less than 24 hours later.  This time around, I’m scrambling! I’m trying to figure out what I need as well as get the house ready for another baby.  We’ve been planning on painting our kitchen cabinets since before Christmas (the top cabinets are done, it’s just our island and our lower cabinets that need to be completed) and I have no idea when I’m going to be able to tackle those!  My goal isn’t to have the whole house together by the time the baby comes, but I know I won’t be able to paint kitchen cabinets once I have 2 kids haha.  We have a crib that we still need to set up, a few shelves, mirrors, and wall decor to hang in the boys’ room (keeping fingers crossed that they can share a room!!).  My last resort deadline is to have all of this stuff done by the beginning of October. We have family coming into town, and it would be really nice to enjoy time with family rather than spend time trying to get our home organized.

 

Alexis

Leave a Reply

