Weeks 30 & 31

WEEK 30

Size:

  • Fruit/Veg: Summer Cantaloupe
  • Animal: Platypus
  • Bakery: Brie en Brioche
  • Toys & games: Motorcycle helmet

Gender: Boy

Baby Names: I think we’ve narrowed it down to 2, one of them being a totally new name.  I’m still just not sure, and because I’m not sure, Kurt isn’t sure.  It’s a hot mess when it comes to names.  I’m fairly confident that we will have a name picked out before we leave the hospital.  No guarantees that Baby Bear will have a name when he’s born.

Cravings: Sweets!

Aversions: Nothing really, which is nice!

Symptoms: Pelvic girdle pain, backache, leg cramps, fatigue, thirst

Nausea/Morning Sickness: None!

Movement: More and more every week.  This baby is sitting much lower than Chad did when I was pregnant with him, so the rib jabs only come when I’m sitting down or laying down.  The movement isn’t comfortable, but it’s comforting.

Sleep: Not bad but not great.

Maternity Clothes: I’m managing with what I have.  I don’t really want to buy much since I have 9 weeks to go.  I bought 2 shirts that should expand my wardrobe a little bit.  I guess I’m just going to have to be an outfit repeater for the next 9 weeks.

Wedding Ring on/off?: Off 😦  I was sad when it didn’t fit anymore.  My hands haven’t swelled too much, but my biggest fear is being able to get my ring on but not off.  I had too many scares like that during my pregnancy and recovery with Chad, so it’ll probably stay off for a few months until I’m confident I’ll be able to slide it on and off.

Favorite Moment of the Week: Celebrating Chad’s birthday! Chad turned 2 when I hit the 30 week mark.  I know all mothers are biased, but I really do believe that I have the cutest, most loving, funny 2 year old in the world.  We love having him in our family.  He just makes our lives so much better.  I honestly think the parenting life is so hard, but so much better than life before kids.  I’ll do a blog post all about Chad this week.

Least Favorite Moment of the Week: Kurt leaving town.  It was really hard not having Kurt around for Chad’s birthday, but we managed.  Chad also made a visit to several doctors and had his first hospital experience.  The poor kid swallowed something he shouldn’t have and we spent a morning and afternoon driving from doctor to doctor to hospital to get him all taken care of.

Looking Forward To: Kurt coming home and celebrating Chad’s birthday as a family!

WEEK 31

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Size:

  • Fruit/Veg: Romaine Lettuce
  • Animal: Small-clawed otter
  • Bakery: Croquembouche
  • Toys & games: Foam Finger

Gender: Boy

Baby Names: Ugh…I need to stop addressing this.  I’ve tried not to think about names to much, but I’ve tested them out and they still don’t feel right.  Nothing is more frustrating than not having the perfect name ready!

Cravings: Shave ice!  We got a shave ice machine and we have several a day.  The sugar isn’t good for my major heartburn and acid reflux, but they taste so good in this heat.

Aversions: None…but I’m doing my best to cut back on sugar and eating food late at night so my acid reflux doesn’t keep me up.

Symptoms: Backache, PGP, dry skin, thirst, acid reflux & heartburn.

Nausea/Morning Sickness: None 🙂

Movement: Again, more and more!  He’s quite strong and is getting stronger every week.

Sleep: Better this week than the past several weeks, which I will gladly take!

Maternity Clothes: Yep 🙂

Wedding Ring on/off?: Off 😦

Favorite Moment of the Week: Celebrating Chad’s birthday as a family.  I made him a cake (Root Beer Float Cake), we had a nice dinner, and we spent some quality time together.  It’s crazy to think that in just 9 weeks we will having quality time as a family of 4.

I also had my 30 week appointment this week (our schedule is off a bit haha).  Baby Bear is healthy, but my bump is measuring a tad small (which is hard to believe because I’m a whale).  I now have appointments every 2 weeks, so I’m sure that in 2 weeks Baby Bear will have caught up.  My weight gain has been fairly consistent and similar to my weight gain with Chad, so there are no health concerns when it comes to Baby Bear.  It was nice to hear his very loud, strong heartbeat this week.

Least Favorite Moment of the Week: I’ve felt really overwhelmed lately.  There just seems to be so much going on, bills keep coming, money keeps leaving, Baby Bear’s due date is coming closer and I have a giant list of projects that I want to do before he comes. AHHHH!!!

Looking Forward To: Next weekend we are having a BBQ with Kurt’s siblings that live here in Utah.  It’ll be nice to have family time, be outside, and relax.

9 more weeks! I can’t believe it.  This pregnancy has gone by so much quicker than Chad’s did.  I’m sure it’s that way because I’m running around after a toddler, taking care of a home, and working this pregnancy.  My pregnancy with Chad went by a lot more slowly because I didn’t work often and I didn’t have anyone else to take care of besides Kurt and me, and we lived in a small apartment.  I’m so excited to be a family of 4. I’m getting nervous about not having a name for him, but we just can’t seem to find one that fits well.  Everyone has either used the names we like or we just can’t agree.  I’m trying to see past both of those things and keep an open mind, but it’s hard.  If anyone has name suggestions, let me know!

Alexis

Leave a Reply

