Weeks 36-39

WEEK 36


Size:

  • Fruit/Veg: Ripe Papaya
  • Animal: Chihuahua
  • Bakery: 2 platefuls of Beignets
  • Toys & games: Cabbage Patch Doll

Gender: Boy 🙂

Baby Names: We’ve been testing out the name and love it!

Cravings: none, really…

Aversions: Chili

Symptoms: heartburn, headaches

Nausea/Morning Sickness: None! 

Movement: This kiddo must be tall because he’s getting crammed for space and loves to stretch.

Sleep: It’s getting more difficult to sleep through the night, but I’m managing.

Maternity Clothes: Definitely

Wedding Ring on/off?:
On

Favorite Moment of the Week:
Kurt took a day off of work and we had the BEST time hanging out together. We went swimming, napped, and spent quality time as a family of 3 before we become a family of 4. It was really great 🙂

Least Favorite Moment of the Week:
We were so busy this week that I just wore myself out. It takes me days to recover when I put my body through a lot.

Looking Forward To: Taking maternity photos, weekly doctor appointments, and having this baby in a month!

WEEK 37


Size:

  • Fruit/Veg: Honeydew melon
  • Animal: Striped skunk
  • Bakery: Serving tray of madeleines
  • Toys & games: Tackle box

Gender: Boy

Baby Names: We love the name we chose more and more. It’s funny to think about how long it took to come up with a name because it seems to fit so perfectly, how did we not realize it sooner! I still need to go through my labor & delivery and see him to make sure the name fits well.

Cravings: Sweets

Aversions: None

Symptoms: headaches, Braxton Hicks contractions, muscle cramps, thirst.

Nausea/Morning Sickness: I get nauseous when I have contractions. That’s how I knew I was for sure in labor with Chad- I got so nauseous every time a contraction came. Since my contractions aren’t consistent, I know I’m not currently in labor.

Movement: I feel the most movement when I’m sitting down. I get kicks in every direction when I’m sitting because I’m definitely cramping Baby Bear’s space.

Sleep: I haven’t been sleeping well. It’s difficult to get comfortable and I’m always waking up with heartburn or muscle cramps. My body is going through a lot, so I’m trying to relax as much as possible during the day since I don’t relax much when I sleep.

Maternity Clothes: Definitely. My maternity clothes aren’t very comfortable though. I don’t know what it is, but I’m just uncomfortable all around and my maternity clothes don’t help like I thought they would. In general, dresses are the most comfortable thing to wear right now.

Wedding Ring on/off?: On! I wasn’t able to wear my ring this long when I was pregnant with Chad…so I’m loving it!

Favorite Moment of the Week: We went to a couples cake class at Orson Gygi in SLC taught by Courtney from Cake by Courtney. I have an obsession with Orson Gygi and Cake by Courtney, so it was the perfect date night for Kurt and I before Baby Bear comes. We decorated the most delicious chocolate cakes. I was in heaven & Kurt was a total champ for tagging along for couples night.

I also had some maternity photos taken by my sweet friend, Kara! I didn’t take any with Chad so I didn’t want to miss out on the opportunity to take them this time around. They turned out great!
Least Favorite Moment of the Week: I just feel like I’m running a million miles an hour. There’s so much to do and such a short amount of time to get it all done.

Looking Forward To: Getting my hair done, Pioneer Day, my next doctor appointment

WEEK 38


Size:

  • Fruit/Veg: Spaghetti Squash
  • Animal: Pomeranian
  • Bakery: Half a baking sheet
  • Toys & games: Ukulele

Gender: Boy!

Baby Names: We are both still really excited about our name choice. We’ve tried to use it around Chad so he can get used to the idea of someone else around.

Cravings: None

Aversions: None

Symptoms: Thirst, backaches, Braxton Hicks contractions, difficulty sleeping, muscle aches and cramps, fatigue

Nausea/Morning Sickness: Only when my Braxton Hicks kick in!

Movement: It’s getting almost too much for me to handle.  The movement can be really painful, especially when I’m sitting down because I’m really taking up all of Baby Bear’s extra space.

Sleep: Sucky.  I’m so tired all the time because I can’t sleep at night.  I can hardly roll over because my muscles hurt so much and I just feel huge and it takes a lot of effort to get comfortable at night.

Maternity Clothes: Maternity dresses are my BFFs right now.  They just get me.

Wedding Ring on/off?: Still on! Definitely couldn’t even attempt to put my ring on at this point in time when I was pregnant with Chad, so it’s kind of cool.  I’ve swelled a lot less in general (yay for NO HIVES!) so it’s been great.

Favorite Moment of the Week: Pioneer Day! Mostly I just love the days where Kurt doesn’t have to work a full day.  He doesn’t work a ton, but when he does work, he works really hard. Sometimes he’s so involved in his work he doesn’t realize that by the time he gets home, it’ll be 7:00pm. Anyways…Pioneer Day was amazing and we had such a good time together as a family.  Chad has an obsession with his cousin, Sarah, that can get kind of out-of-hand, but it’s still really cute for now.  He’s just a little aggressive and overly physical when it comes to expressing his love for her haha.

I’m also officially 2/3 of the way done with painting my kitchen cabinets! We painted the top cabinets last winter and then I painted half of the bottom cabinets this weekend.  The goal is to have them all done by the time Baby Bear arrives. Fingers crossed!

Least Favorite Moment of the Week: As fun as it is to paint cabinets, it’s really hard to do so at 37/38 weeks pregnant.  It’s just a lot of physical work for the physical state I’m in, and it’s not super exciting or entertaining to have to paint cabinets a total of 4-6 times depending on how many coats of paint and clear coats you put on them.

But all of it was totally worth it when I put the cabinet doors and drawer faces back on. Our kitchen looks so different compared to before we painted the cabinets.  Our purple countertops are almost bearable! haha

Looking Forward To: Having this baby! The countdown is almost to single digits and I am so excited.  We are going to be a family of 4 so soon!!!!


Size:

  • Fruit/Veg: Small Pumpkin
  • Animal: American shorthair cat
  • Bakery: French grain sack
  • Toys & games: Mini skateboard

Gender: The plan is to have a bouncing baby boy by next week

Baby Names: We are very happy with the name we picked. It feels right, you know? Hoping it feels even more right once Baby Bear arrives!

Cravings: Sweets

Aversions: None

Symptoms: Lower back pain, Braxton Hicks, trouble falling asleep, swelling of hands and feet (which hasn’t been all that bad, actually…I’m really quite surprised that I’m at 39 weeks and can occasionally still wear my wedding ring).

Nausea/Morning Sickness: None, only when I have Braxton Hicks contractions. Plus I’ve had pretty bad allergies this week so I’m kind of a hot mess.

Movement: He moves a lot, but not at the same time. When he gets going, he rolls and tumbles as much as he can to get his wiggles out. But he really doesn’t have that much space to move.

Sleep: Not great. I go the occasional night of not sleeping completely through the night without waking up, but overall it could be worse. Getting comfortable is the hardest part.

Maternity Clothes: definitely, except wearing jeans, Denim, or any other clothing that isn’t breathable, isn’t comfortable. Dresses & sweatpants have been my friend.

Wedding Ring on/off?: Mostly off, but occasionally on.

Favorite Moment of the Week: it’s been such a busy week. I’m happy to say that half of my kitchen cabinets are done and I have the other half to do this weekend. We had friends stay with us and that was really fun! Chad had a blast being around a baby, which makes Kurt and me excited about how he will do with a baby brother. We also went down to Provo Canyon a few times. It’s always nice enjoying the outdoors with family.

Least Favorite Moment of the Week: my allergies and getting sick! I lost my voice and had the itchiest eyes, runny nose, and nasty cough this week. It hit me out of nowhere. Fingers crossed all these symptoms go away before Baby Bear comes.

Looking Forward To: Having a baby within the next week! Chad came 3 days early…so we’ll see what happens!

 

I feel like there’s still so much to do before the baby comes.  I haven’t brought myself to finish the kitchen cabinets because it hurts to bend over and the repetitive motion of painting makes my body ache.  I’ve got about 4-5 loads of laundry that I need to do this weekend, a Shop Stevie Pop Up Shop on Saturday (I know…I’m crazy), and we haven’t purchased anything to prep for the baby except a bed haha. Overall, I’m pretty overwhelmed, but grateful that we’ve having a baby soon.  Now that we are down to the wire, painting the cabinets isn’t very important and laundry can wait.  I spend every minute I can with Chad…which he doesn’t mind because he freaks out every time I leave the room. Mama’s boy, much?  I wouldn’t have it any other way though!

I’m so grateful for the chance we have to become parents to another little guy. It took longer to add Chad to our family than we anticipated, and adding Baby Bear was a similar experience.  We feel blessed beyond words to have such a loving God who answers our prayers, comforts us in times of sorrow and difficulty, and blesses us in ways we couldn’t even imagine.  This pregnancy and growing our family has been such a beautiful experience for me.  I’m sure it’s been a wonderful experience for Kurt as well, but it’s a little different when you’re the one who carries the baby from start to finish.  I am constantly reminded how blessed I am to have Kurt and Chad in my life.  They are wonderful, loving, kind, and make me feel so appreciated.  I hope this little dude is as much of a gentleman as his dad and older brother are!

In interviews and questionnaires, people always ask, “Where do you see yourself in 5 years?”  I’ve been thinking about the past 5 years a lot. 5 years ago, I was 19 trying to figure out who I wanted to date, I had just been accepted to dental hygiene school, and I didn’t have many responsibilities.  My life was good & relaxing. Five years later, I am a wife of 4 years to the most amazing man, a mother to a sweet & tender 2 year old boy, days away from our second boy joining our family, a Registered Dental Hygienist & college graduate, a homeowner, a business owner…life is hard and things don’t always go the way Kurt & I plan them to, but I feel so proud of what I have (& what we have) accomplished and experienced in the last 5 years. I’m so grateful for a supportive husband, an amazing family, and a merciful God that watches out for me. We are ready for this next step in life, and I can’t wait to see what our next chapter has in store as a family of 4!

Alexis

Leave a Reply

